©2017 BY ADRIANNEFINLAY.COM. PROUDLY CREATED WITH WIX.COM

Your One & Only

Perfect for fans of DELIRIUM and NEVER LET ME GO, YOUR ONE & ONLY is a powerful YA debut novel set in the near future about the only human boy in a world populated by 9 clone models and the girl who falls in love with him.

Reviews of YOUR ONE & ONLY

"...FINLAY HAS CREATED A THOUGHT-PROVOKING TALE THAT EXPLORES CONFORMITY, INDIVIDUALITY, AND WHAT IT MEANS TO BE HUMAN...WITH IMAGINATIVE, VIVID WORLD BUILDING, THIS SHOULD APPEAL TO FANS OF LAUREN OLIVER’S REPLICA (2016)."  —BOOKLIST

★ "LIKE THE WORKS OF URSULA K. LEGUIN, INSIDE THIS LYRICALLY WRITTEN, SUSPENSEFUL TALE IS A DEEPLY HUMANE THEMATIC CORE."—KIRKUS REVIEWS, STARRED REVIEW

"READERS WILL FEEL FULLY IMMERSED IN THIS NEW REALITY. A GREAT CHOICE FOR LOVERS OF POSTAPOCALYPTIC STORY LINES." –SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL

"HAUNTING, MOVING AND PROVOCATIVE, YOUR ONE & ONLY ASKS QUESTIONS THAT WILL LINGER AFTER YOU'RE FINISHED READING—ADRIANNE FINLAY IS A DEBUT TO WATCH."
—AMIE KAUFMAN, NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING CO-AUTHOR OF ILLUMINAE AND THESE BROKEN STARS 

"THIS IS SUCH A FASCINATING, CLEVER STORY, WITH CHARACTERS I TRULY GREW TO LOVE AND A PLOT THAT NEVER STOPPED MOVING! AS SOON AS I STARTED READING, I FOUND MYSELF TURNING PAGES FURIOUSLY, SO EXCITED TO SEE WHAT WOULD HAPPEN NEXT. A TRULY ORIGINAL AND INVENTIVE STORY FOR MY FELLOW LOVERS OF SCI-FI."
—S.J. KINCAID, NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE DIABOLIC

A BIT ABOUT ME

I received my PhD in literature and creative writing from Binghamton University. Originally from Ithaca, New York, I now live in Cedar Falls, Iowa with my husband, the poet J. D. Schraffenberger, and our two young daughters. I'm an associate professor of English at Upper Iowa University in Fayette, Iowa and the Program Director of Creative Writing. I teach creative writing, composition, and literature classes. One of the really fun classes I teach is Adolescent Lit, where we read some of my favorite authors: Lois Lowry, S.E. Hinton, Robert Cormier, Laurie Halse Anderson, Walter Dean Myers. I change this list up a lot by adding new releases and various titles just to keep things interesting. Because I don't have enough to do (ha ha), I also make soap, lotion, and lip balm with my partner Rachel under the name Semisweet Soaps. We sell our products locally, raising money for Type 1 diabetes research.

Editor: Lily Kessinger, HMH

Represented by: Adam Schear, Defiore & Co.  

adam@defliterary.com

YOUR ONE & ONLY

About the Book

Jack is a walking fossil. The only human among a sea of clones. It’s been hundreds of years since humanity died off in the slow plague, leaving the clones behind to carry on human existence. Over time they’ve perfected their genes, moving further away from the imperfections of humanity. But if they really are perfect, why did they create Jack?

While Jack longs for acceptance, Althea-310 struggles with the feeling that she’s different from her sisters. Her fascination with Jack doesn’t help. As Althea and Jack’s connection grows stronger, so does the threat to their lives. What will happen if they do the unthinkable and fall in love?


I conceived of this story after reading an essay about the medical ethics of cloning a Neanderthal. The conclusion basically stated it would be unethical, because the result would be a being with no family, no community, who is isolated in the world they’ve been introduced to. I thought this was an interesting idea and conflict. Instead of creating a Neanderthal main character, however, I imagined a future where humans had evolved in some fundamental way, and then introduced into their society a past incarnation of human, the 21st century man.

GET IN TOUCH

Email:

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now